GNCC Round 4 ATV Results: VP Racing Fuels Big Buck GNCC

GNCC Round 4 ATV Results: VP Racing Fuels Big Buck GNCC

XC1 Podium: (left) Adam McGill, Walker Fowler, (right) Jarrod McClurePhoto: Ken Hill


The XC1 Pro ATV points battle tightened up on Saturday as N-Fab/AmPro Yamaha/Maxxis/Lonestar/MXP’s Walker Fowler earned his second victory of the season at the VP Racing Fuels Big Buck GNCC, where he also gained five points on leader Adam McGill at the fourth round of racing. Fowler’s Yamaha teammate Cole Richardson extended his perfect season in the XC2 Pro Am class with his fourth consecutive win of the 2015 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series presented by Maxxis, an AMA National Championship.

 Walker Fowler gained five championship points with a big win in South CarolinaPhoto: Ken Hill

Walker Fowler gained five championship points with a big win in South CarolinaPhoto: Ken Hill

CST/ Adam McGill collected yet another $250 AMSOIL XC1 Pro Holeshot Award to begin the day out front. McGill turned up the pace immediately, with Fowler, Maxxis/B. Neal Motorsports’ Brycen Neal, Bithell Racing/Maxxis/Precision-backed Chris Bithell and JMR/ Jarrod McClure close in tow.

McGill worked hard to create a comfortable gap on the rest of the field early on, but around the halfway mark of the four-lap race it was Fowler who began his charge to the front. As the two-lap card fell, Fowler made his move to the front and the lead duo battled their way to another exciting finish.

 Adam McGill (left) and Walker Fowler (right) were wheel-to-wheel on the final lap Photo: Ken Hill

Adam McGill (left) and Walker Fowler (right) were wheel-to-wheel on the final lapPhoto: Ken Hill

The excitement didn’t stop with the lead battle, as the final podium position was up for grabs all afternoon. Neal and Bithell exchanged the third place position several times through the first hour of the race but it was McClure who quietly made his way into podium contention on the final lap.

Despite the pass two laps earlier, McGill didn’t let Fowler out of his sights as the two raced into the final turns of the two-hour race with only seconds separating their machines. In the end, Fowler held a three-second lead on the West Virginia native as he came through for his second victory of the season in South Carolina. Fowler’s win allowed him to make up five points toward McGill’s lead in the championship standings, where McGill now holds a 15-point lead heading into round five. Photo: Ken Hill

Jarrod McClure put in a season-best fourth place finishPhoto: Ken Hill

McClure upped the pace in the final moments to break through for his first podium appearance of the season with third overall. The Pennsylvania native now sits fourth in the championship standings, only eight points outside third place.

Despite running inside the top three for a majority of the afternoon, Neal finished about 35 seconds off the podium at round four. However, Neal’s consistency thus far has earned the sophomore XC1 Pro rider a third place position in the championship standings amidst a talented field of veteran riders. Bithell extended his consistent string of top five finishes with his third fifth place finish of the season. Bithell sits in eighth place in the championship standings despite a mechanical issue at round three, where he earned zero points toward the championship.

 The XC1 race action was close all afternoon Photo: Ken HillThe XC1 race action was close all afternoonPhoto: Ken Hill

After getting off to a mid-pack start, Maxxis/SSi/FLY/Yamaha’s Chris Borich maintained a consistent pace where he ultimately finished sixth overall for the day. Borich’s sixth place finish marks the second time in four races that the six-time champion has finished off the podium, where he sits in fifth place in the early championship standings.

It was a tough day for Coastal/Waynesburg Yamaha’s Jay Shadron, who was running near the front when he collided with a tree and reportedly injured his left shoulder. After attempting to push through the pain, Shadron decided to call it a day after the first lap.

Landon Wolfe put in a season-best seventh place finish in the XC1 Pro class, followed by Fasttrax/Wolf Racing’s Brian Wolf in eighth, BNR Motorsports/GBC Racing’s Kevin Yoho in ninth and Team Woodhead/Baldwin Motorsports/DeRisi Racing’s Braden Henthorn rounded out the top ten in the class.

In XC2 Pro Am action, it was N-Fab/AmPro Yamaha/Maxxis/Lonestar/MXP’s Cole Richardson who captured his fourth consecutive $100 All Balls Racing XC2 Holeshot Award before extending his win streak to four-in-a-row in 2015. Richardson got off to the early lead but the reigning champion experienced a minor setback when a rock hit his front shock and forced him to stop in the AmPro Yamaha pits for almost two minutes to make a repair. Despite falling back to fifth place, Richardson was able to bounce back and capture yet another win in his quest for a second XC2 Pro Am title. 

Cole Richardson extended his win streak to four-in-a-row Photo: Ken HillCole Richardson extended his win streak to four-in-a-rowPhoto: Ken Hill

RYCO Racing/Pierce Performance’s Cody Collier took advantage of Richardson’s misfortune early on where he led his first career laps as an XC2 rider. Collier eventually went on to capture second place in the class, just ahead of Dillingers/Hygear’s Marty Christofferson in third.

XC2 Podium: (left) Cody Collier, Cole Richardson, (right) Martin Christofferson Photo: Ken HillXC2 Podium: (left) Cody Collier, Cole Richardson, (right) Martin ChristoffersonPhoto: Ken Hill

Maryland’s Westley Wolfe captured his first-ever Top Amateur Award with a 18th overall and his first career win in the College A (16-21) class.

The 1 p.m. race was broadcast LIVE in its entirety on and can be viewed as an archived video now online by visiting the GNCC LIVE page online.

The 2015 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series resumes April 25 and 26 with the Limestone 100 GNCC in Springville, Indiana. For more information on the series, visit

Stay up-to-date with exclusive content from the AMSOIL GNCC Series by following the series FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

VP Racing Fuels Big Buck Creek GNCC
Union, SC
Round 4 of 13
Saturday, April 11

XC1 Event Results:

  1. Walker Fowler (YAM)
  2. Adam McGill (HON)
  3. Jarrod McClure (HON)
  4. Brycen Neal (HON)
  5. Chris Bithell (SUZ)
  6. Chris Borich (YAM)
  7. Landon Wolfe (YAM)
  8. Brian Wolf (HON)
  9. Kevin Yoho (YAM)
  10. Braden Henthorn (HON)

*Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Adam McGill (110)
  2. Walker Fowler (95)
  3. Brycen Neal (76)
  4. Jarrod McClure (68)
  5. Chris Borich (61)
  6. Cole Richardson (53)
  7. Jay Shadron (52)
  8. Chris Bithell (48)
  9. Johnny Gallagher (41)
  10. Kevin Yoho (36)

*Indicates that the Overall National Championship Standings will determine the 2015 National Champion.

XC2 Event Results:

  1. Cole Richardson (YAM)
  2. Cody Collier (YAM)
  3. Martin Christofferson (HON)
  4. Randy Hamilton (HON)
  5. Blake Tornes (YAM)
  6. Thomas Koontz (YAM)
  7. James Green (HON)
  8. Jonathan Fugate (HON)
  9. Bryson Hoppes (YAM)
  10. Levi Coen (HON)

XC2 Series Standings:

  1. Cole Richardson (90)
  2. Martin Christofferson (68)
  3. Cody Collier (58)
  4. Randy Hamilton (53)
  5. Blake Tornes (40)
  6. Michael Lancaster (39)
  7. Bryson Hoppes (37)
  8. Jonathan Fugate (34)
  9. Cameron Bruce (32)
  10. Kevin Cunningham (25)